Don’t Just Pay Your Red Hook Ticket, Fight It And Save Money
Being issued a speeding ticket in Red Hook can be a terrible experience. The very thought of paying large fines, penalties, points, and insurance increases is enough cause anyone grief. Fortunately, we can help. If you are charged with a speeding, texting while driving, or any other moving violation and it is returnable to the Red Hook Traffic Court, give us a call at 800-893-9645.
We Can Help. If you were stopped for a costly speeding ticket, we can help. Give our Red Hook speeding ticket lawyers a call to learn how we can help you save time, money and points on your license. We have over 30 years of legal experience and we have helped thousands of drivers throughout New York State reduce their exposure to costly fines, penalties, and insurance increases. We can be reached at 800-893-9645.
About the court: Red Hook Village Court is a court of local jurisdiction. It has limited power to adjudicated cases civil and criminal cases. For example, this court cannot preside over matrimonial matters or surrogate matters. Jurisdiction for those cases are reserved for courts of higher jurisdiction. In general, this court will preside over small claims civil cases and misdemeanor charges.
Useful Court Tidbits
How many points am I facing? The number of points a driver is facing will depend on the nature of the violation. Some violations have a fixed number of points and others can vary depending on the severity of the charge. For example, a stop sign violation written under VTL 1172 (a) will always be a 3 point violation unless the New York State Legislature amends the law. On the other hand, a speeding conviction under VTL 1180 (b) can vary from 3 points to 11 points depending on the number of MPH above the speed limit the driver is convicted of.
This chart will help first time speeders quickly ascertain how many points they are facing.
01 to 10 mph over the limit
11 to 20 mph over the limit
21 to 30 mph over the limit
31 to 40 mph over the limit
More than 40 mph over the limit
Our attorneys fight for our clients and attempt to resolve their case with the most favorable possible outcome. Below is a list of fines associated with some of the most widely issued tickets in the state. (Fines are subject to change without notice).
|First-time speeding offense||$45 to $600|
|One or more speeding tickets|
(within eighteen months)
|Up to $1,575|
|Disobey a Traffic Signal|
(no other penalty provided)
|Unregistered Vehicle or Trailer||$25-$200|
|Equipment Violations of Vehicle or Trailer||$0-$100|
|Surcharges||$ varies based on the charge and location|
|Six points or more on record||$300 one time payment;|
or $100 each year for 3 years
|Any additional points earned over six points||$25 for each point for 3 years|
|Refusing to take a breathalyzer test, conviction for alcohol related traffic offense or conviction for drug related traffic offense||$250 each year for 3 years|
We Can Help. Call Us Today at 800-893-9645: Here is a list of some common charges were have helped our client’s fight.
- Speeding under VTL § 1180 (b)
- Speeding under VTL § 1180 (d)
- Cell Phone under VTL § 1225
- Child Seatbelt under VTL § 1229
- Failure to Move Over under VTL § 1144-A
- Failure to Signal under VTL § 1163
- Following Too Closely under VTL § 1129
- Operating Without Insurance under VTL § 319
- Red Light under VTL § 1111
- Stop Sign Violation under VTL § 1172
- Suspended License Operation under VTL § 511.1 (Misdemeanor)
- Unsafe Lane Change under VTL § 1128