If you are reading this blog, there is a good chance that you were driving on Pondfield Road in Bronxville and were stopped for a moving violation. While the officer ran your license, it was discovered that your privilege to drive was suspended.
If you are in this unfortunate situation, give our lawyers a call to learn how we can help. We can be reached at 914-723-7900
|FIGHT YOUR AUO CHARGE|
CALL TODAY 914-723-7900
A conviction to AUO 3rd degree is a crime. The charge can be either a misdemeanor or a felony. A person found guilty of this charge can be fined or even given a jail sentence.
Why is my license suspended?
There are many circumstances that can trigger a license suspension. The most common reason that a driver privilege to drive is involves their failure to Answer the summons.
When a driver is given a moving violation, they are required to enter a plea of either guilty or not guilty in a timely manner. When a driver fails to do so, the court will suspend a driver’s privilege to drive.
How can I un-suspend my license for failure to Answer a summons?
The stating point to getting your privilege to drive reinstated should begin with a call to the court for which the summons was given. The court clerk will advise you of the steps taken in their particular court. Although court procedures may vary, every court will require a driver to pay a mandatory suspension lift fee. At the time of this blog post, the standard suspension lift fee is $70.00 per suspension.
What are some other reasons that my cause my privilege to drive to be suspended in Bronxville?
This is not an exhaustive list of grounds for suspending a license in New York. A license can be suspended for DWI related charges; too many points within 18 months, and 3 speeding convictions within an 18 month period.
What are general difference between a misdemeanor and a felony?
In general, misdemeanors are classified as a crime that can be punishable with up to one year in jail and felonies are classified as a crime with more than a one year possible jail sentence.
Do I need to appear in court if I hire an attorney?
Under most normal circumstances, a driver will need to appear in court for a VTL 511 charge. Because this is a criminal charge, it will be heard during the court’s criminal calendar. It will be mixed in with other charges such as DWI, possession of drugs, and assault.
About Our Firm:
Our legal criminal defense attorney is Joe Villanueva. He is a former prosecutor with more than 10 years of legal experience representing in Bronxville, Westchester, and the surrounding venues. He is experienced in handling complex criminal cases from inception through trial. He has been recognized as one of the top attorneys in New York.