Sunday, August 2, 2015

Fine Town Traffic Ticket Lawyer St. Lawrence County New York

Fine Town Court is a municipal court located in St. Lawrence County.  Many drivers traveling along Route 3 unexpectedly exceed the speed limit and find they are having to fight an expensive speeding ticket.

If you issued a traffic ticket or speeding ticket and it is returnable to the Fine Town Court, give us a call to schedule your free confidential consultation.  We can be reached at 800-893-9645.

We can help!  Our law firm has over 30 years of legal experience and we have helped thousands of drivers in New York State save time, money, and points on their license.  A former New York City prosecutor who has successfully prosecuted and defended thousands of traffic tickets leads us. 

About the court:  Fine Town Court has limited jurisdiction over civil, criminal and traffic court matters.  A typical civil calendar will contain small claims cases with less than $3,000.00 in dispute.  This can include but not be limited to landlord tenant matters, contractual disputes, and property damage claims.  The majority of criminal cases heard by this court are misdemeanors.  While felony matters can be heard in this court, they are usually limited up to the felony hearing.  Thereafter, the case will be held over for county court action.  This court has full jurisdiction over traffic tickets falling under the Vehicle Traffic Law excluding felony matters.  A typical traffic court calendar will include speeding violations, equipment violations, and cell phone violations.

Useful Court Tidbits

How many points am I facing?  The number of points a driver is facing will depend on the nature of the violation.  Some violations have a fixed number of points and others can vary depending on the severity of the charge.  For example, a stop sign violation written under VTL 1172 (a) will always be a 3 point violation unless the New York State Legislature amends the law.  On the other hand, a speeding conviction under VTL 1180 (b) can vary from 3 points to 11 points depending on the number of MPH above the speed limit the driver is convicted of.

This chart will help first time speeders quickly ascertain how many points they are facing.

01 to 10 mph over the limit
11 to 20  mph over the limit
21 to 30  mph over the limit
31 to 40  mph over the limit
More than 40  mph over the limit

Fines and Surcharges:  Our attorneys fight for our clients and attempt to resolve their case with the most favorable possible outcome.  Below is a list of fines associated with some of the most widely issued tickets in the state.   (Fines are subject to change without notice).  Call our lawyers now at 800-893-9645.
First-time speeding offense$45 to $600
One or more speeding tickets
(within eighteen months)
Up to $1,575
Traffic Infraction$100-$300
Disobey a Traffic Signal
Misdemeanor Convictions
(no other penalty provided)
Uninspected Vehicles$25-$200
Unregistered Vehicle or Trailer$25-$200
Equipment Violations of Vehicle or Trailer$0-$100
Surcharges$ varies based on the charge and location

New York Driver Assessment:  
New York State imposes a Driver Responsibility Assessment (also known as a DRA) for drivers who accumulate six points or more on their driving record.  Call our lawyers now at 800-893-9645 for a consultation.

Six points or more on record$300 one time payment;
or $100 each year for 3 years
Any additional points earned over six points
$25 for each point for 3 years
Refusing to take a breathalyzer test, conviction for alcohol related traffic offense or conviction for drug related traffic offense$250 each year for 3 years

We Can Help. Call Us Today at 800-893-9645:  Here is a list of some common charges were have helped our client’s fight.

  • Speeding under VTL § 1180 (b)
  • Speeding under VTL § 1180 (d)
  • Cell Phone under VTL § 1225
  • Child Seatbelt under VTL § 1229
  • Failure to Move Over under VTL § 1144-A
  • Failure to Signal under VTL § 1163
  • Following Too Closely under VTL § 1129
  • Operating Without Insurance under VTL § 319
  • Red Light under VTL § 1111
  • Stop Sign Violation under VTL § 1172
  • Suspended License Operation under VTL § 511.1 (Misdemeanor)
  • Unsafe Lane Change under VTL § 1128