Friday, June 7, 2013

Texting While Driving Penalties Increase

New York's Governor, Andrew Cuomo, recently announced his passage of new legislation that would increase the penalty for texting while driving from a 3 point violation to a 5 point violation.
NYS Fights Texting While Driving

The Governor has directed the State's highest acting police agency to beef up their ticketing campaign for this violation.  As such, there will be a higher number of checkpoints and patrols vigilantly looking for these violations.

This means that drivings travelling through the Yonkers highways should be more cognizant of their surroundings and avoid improperly using their hand held devices while driving.  The State Police patrol a large number of the roads in New York State. In Yonkers, they share jurisdictional territory along the Sprain Brook Parkway, New York State Thruway (I-87), and the Saw Mill River Parkway.

At his press conference, the Governor stated, “As the father of three teenagers, I know firsthand the importance of instilling safe practices in our young drivers who are developing lifelong habits as they learn to navigate the road." “Inattention and inexperience is a deadly combination – one this legislation seeks to deter. We are urging young and inexperienced drivers to keep their eyes on the road and hands on the wheel, while putting stronger penalties in place for drivers of all ages who violate the law and put others in danger. No parent should have to experience losing a child at the hands of a text message.”

License Holders
Current Law

Cell Phone and Texting Convictions

New Law

Cell Phone and Texting Convictions
ProbationaryNoNo360 days for first conviction6 months for subsequent conviction within 6 months of license restoration5
JuniorNoNo360 days for first conviction60 days for subsequent conviction within 6 months of license restoration5
All othersNoNo3NoNo5
Because statistical data has shown that young drivers are more prone to operating a cell phone while driving, the law has built-in stiffer penalties for probationary and junior license drivers who break this law.  If you are charged with violating VTL 1225, give our ticket lawyers a call at 914-723-7900.