Monday, June 15, 2015

Fight Your Taconic State Parkway Traffic Ticket


Our Taconic speeding ticket lawyers have over 30 years of legal experience and we fight tickets in every court along the Taconic State Parkway.  We have successfully defended clients in all four counties: Westchester County, Putnam County, Dutchess County, and Columbia County.

Our speeding ticket lawyers will help you save time, money, and points on your license. We also go to court for our clients while they stay home.

About Our Firm: Our law firm has been recognized as some of the finest lawyers in New York State and we have been more than 30 years of legal experience.  Our traffic ticket defense practice is led by a former prosecutor with the knowledge and skills to fight for you.  Give us a call today and ask for your confidential consultation.  We can be reached at 800-893-9645.

Fight Your Ticket And Save Money

Did you know that a conviction to driving 86 mph on the Taconic State Parkway can result in hundreds of dollars in fines, penalties, and insurance increases?  In some of the most serious cases, a driver can be sentenced to jail and have their license suspended or revoked.

A first time conviction to 86 mph in a 55 mph zone can result in the presiding judge issuing a $693.00 fine and surcharge. This is an 8 point violation. Typically, within 90 days of the conviction, the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles will issue another $450.00 fine known as the Driver’s Responsibility Assessment (also known as the DRA).  This penalty will be issued to a driver regardless of what state they are licensed.  Taking a defensive driving course will help a driver reduce up to four points off their license, however, the course will not eliminate the DRA.  Furthermore, many insurance companies will use this conviction to raise their driver’s annual premium hundreds or perhaps thousands of dollars.  In some extreme situations, an insurance company may drop the driver as a client.

Some of the busiest courts along the Taconic include:

·      Milan Town Court
·      Yorktown Town Court 
·      Stanford Town Court in Stanfordville
·      New Castle Town Court in Chappaqua
·      Putnam Valley Town Court
·      Carmel Town Court
·      East Fishkill Town Court
·      LaGrange Town Court in Lagranville
·      Poughkeepsie Town Court
·      Pleasant Valley Town Court
·      Clinton Town Court in Rhinebeck
·      Gallatin Town Court
·      Taghkanic Town Court
·      Claverack Town Court
·      Ghent Town Court
·      Austerlitz Town Court
·      Chatham Town Court

Points:  Currently, New York State does not have a one point traffic ticket offense.  The lowest number of points that can be assessed against a driver is two points.  The most is eleven. With respect to speeding tickets, the lowest speeding conviction will result in a 3 point conviction and can go as high as eleven. Once a driver is convicted of eleven points, their privilege to drive in New York State will be suspended.

The number of points a driver is facing will depend on the nature of the charge.  Most moving violations will vary from 0 to 11 points.  The majority of clients that hire our firm are facing a speeding ticket.  This chart will help you quickly ascertain the number of points you are facing.

01 to 10 mph over the limit
11 to 20  mph over the limit
21 to 30  mph over the limit
31 to 40  mph over the limit
More than 40  mph over the limit

We Can Help. Call Us Today at 800-893-9645:  Here is a list of some common charges were have helped our client’s fight.

·                Speeding under VTL § 1180 (b)
·                Speeding under VTL § 1180 (d)
·                Cell Phone under VTL § 1225
·                Child Seatbelt under VTL § 1229
·                Failure to Move Over under VTL § 1144-A
·                Failure to Signal under VTL § 1163
·                Following Too Closely under VTL § 1129
·                Operating Without Insurance under VTL § 319
·                Red Light under VTL § 1111
·                Stop Sign Violation under VTL § 1172
·                Suspended License Operation under VTL § 511.1 (Misdemeanor)
·                Unsafe Lane Change under VTL § 1128