Caught Speeding On Route 17
Every year, thousands of drivers are pulled over on State Route 17 and charged with speeding. One of the many courts to receive jurisdiction over these tickets is the Hancock Town Court in Delaware County.
A plea of guilty to a charge of speeding will result in a conviction to a moving violation for which a minimum of 3 points and as much as 11 points can be assessed against the driver’s license. In addition, a driver will be facing fines, surcharges, and insurance increases. Given the right confluence of circumstances, a driver could also be facing a license suspension or jail time.
We Can Help
Our Hancock Town traffic ticket lawyers have successfully fought thousands of traffic tickets in New York State. We are led by a former prosecutor and we can help you reduce your exposure to costly fines, penalties, and insurance increases. Give us a call today at 800-893-9645 to learn how we can help you.
Question and Answer
I was pulled over by a New York State Trooper and issued a speeding ticket. Am I entitled to a supporting deposition?
The majority of speeding tickets issued by the State Police have a support deposition issued and served to the driver at the same time the speeding ticket is issued. If this is the situation, the driver is not entitled to another supporting deposition. Note, if the officer does not provide the driver with a supporting deposition, then a demand for a support deposition would be proper. Note, the demand must be made in a timely manner.
What if a supporting deposition is not served on me within 30 days?
If a properly demanded supporting deposition is not served, a legal argument can be made to have the ticket dismissed.
Is the ticket dismissed forever?
When a case is dismissed for the failure to timely serve a supporting deposition, it can result in the officer re-issuing a new ticket with a new supporting deposition.
There are legal arguments that can be made on both sides whether or not the ticket can be reissued.
How many points am I facing?
01 to 10 mph over the limit
11 to 20
21 to 30
31 to 40
More than 40
How much will I have to pay in fines?
This chart will provide you some guidance for the fine range for first time offenders.
1st time Conviction Within Eighteen (18) Months
Points on Driving Record
10 mph or less
$88.00 or $93.00
$88.00 or $93.00
31 mph or over
$88.00 or $93.00
What if I failed to enter my plea by the date written on the front of the ticket?
If a plea is not entered in a timely manner, the driver’s privilege to drive in the State of New York can be suspended. Once a license is suspended, a driver will be required to pay a suspension lift fee to restore their license. The process of restoring a license can be long and cumbersome. As such, it is important to strictly adhere to all court protocols.
About Our Firm
|Call Our Lawyers Today|
Our law firm has over 30 years of legal experience and we are led by a former prosecutor. We have been recognized as some of the finest lawyers in the State.
Join the thousands of drivers that have saved time, money and points on their license with our traffic ticket defense firm. Call our former prosecutor at 800-893-9645 and ask for a confidential consultation today.
Charges We Fight In Hancock
Here is a list of some common charges were have helped our client’s fight.
· Speeding under VTL § 1180 (b)
· Speeding under VTL § 1180 (d)
· Cell Phone under VTL § 1225
· Child Seatbelt under VTL § 1229
· Failure to Move Over under VTL § 1144-A
· Failure to Signal under VTL § 1163
· Following Too Closely under VTL § 1129
· Operating Without Insurance under VTL § 319
· Red Light under VTL § 1111
· Stop Sign Violation under VTL § 1172
· Suspended License Operation under VTL § 511.1 (Misdemeanor)
· Unsafe Lane Change under VTL § 1128