Tuesday, December 16, 2014


Fighting A Speeding Ticket in Mount Hope Can Be Difficult

Mount Hope is a municipality located in Orange County New York.  It receives a large number of moving violations from drivers traveling along Route 211.  A conviction to a traffic ticket can be costly.  If you have a speeding ticket or traffic ticket pending in Mount Hope Town Court, give our traffic ticket lawyers a call to learn how we can help you save time, money, and points on your license.

About the Court

Court Mailing Address:
P. O. Box 872
Otisville , NY 10963

Physical Court Address:
11 Baker Street
Otisville, NY 10963

Court Business

The court employs two town Justices.  The court meets every Tuesday evening and on an as needed basis. The day to day operations of the court is run by the Clerk of the Court.  In general, the clerk maintains office hours on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday.


The court has limited jurisdictional authority over legal matters occurring within the Town. It can adjudicate civil cases with up to $3,000.00 in controversy, misdemeanor criminal cases, and most traffic tickets.  Some other matters may also include landlord tenant proceedings, zoning violations, and marriages. It also adjudicates matters occurring within the Village of Otisville.

What is the cost of a speeding ticket?

Every driver convicted of a moving violation will be subject to pay a fine and surcharge.  The amount of the fine will vary depending on the nature of the conviction and the facts surrounding the ticket.

While the New York Legislature has set the range of fines allowable in a ticket case, the judge is in charge of imposing the fine.

This chart will give you a quick glimpse into the possible combinations of fines allowed on a first time speeding conviction.

1st time Conviction Within Eighteen (18) Months
Minimum Fine
Maximum Fine
Maximum Imprisonment
Points on Driving Record
10 mph or less
$88.00 or $93.00
11-30 mph
30 Days
$88.00 or $93.00
31 mph or over
30 Days

How are points assessed against a license?

A conviction to a moving violation will result in points being assessed against a driver’s privilege to drive.  Once a driver exceeds 10 points, their license will be suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles.  There are many other situations that can triggers a license suspension but they will not be discussed in this blog post.

A speeding conviction can result in as few as 3 points and as many at 11 points.  The number of points will depend on the rate of speed for which the driver is convicted. 

Here is a quick glimpse into the speeding tickets and the points assessed.

01 to 10 mph over the limit
11 to 20
21 to 30
31 to 40
More than 40

About Our Law Firm

Call Our Lawyers Today
Our law firm has over 30 years of legal experience and we are led by a former prosecutor.  We have been recognized as some of the finest lawyers in the State.

Join the thousands of drivers that have saved time, money and points on their license with our traffic ticket defense firm.  Call our former prosecutor at 800-893-9645 and ask for a confidential consultation today.

Charges We Fight: Here is a list of some common charges were have helped our client’s fight.

·                Speeding under VTL § 1180 (b)
·                Speeding under VTL § 1180 (d)
·                Cell Phone under VTL § 1225
·                Child Seatbelt under VTL § 1229
·                Failure to Move Over under VTL § 1144-A
·                Failure to Signal under VTL § 1163
·                Following Too Closely under VTL § 1129
·                Operating Without Insurance under VTL § 319
·                Red Light under VTL § 1111
·                Stop Sign Violation under VTL § 1172
·                Suspended License Operation under VTL § 511.1 (Misdemeanor)
·                Unsafe Lane Change under VTL § 1128