Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Sandy Creek Traffic Lawyer's Guide to Fighting a Ticket

Fight Your Sandy Creek Ticket and Save Money!

If you are reading this blog, there is a good chance that you were issued an expensive speeding ticket along I-81 and your ticket is returnable to the Sandy Creek Town Court.  I’m sure the number one question on your mind is, “how much is thing going to cost me?”

The Cost of a Sandy Creek Speeding Ticket

There are many different cost factors involved with a ticket. It varies from quantifiable things such as dollars and cents to non-quantifiable things such as time wasted in court.  Here is a quick glimpse into some of the costs associated with a ticket.

Points:  A conviction to a speeding ticket can result in points being assessed against a driver’s license.  In New York, the lowest level speeding conviction will result in 3 points begin assessed against a driver’s license.  The highest speeding conviction will result in 11 points being assessed against a driver’s privilege to drive.

This chart will quickly help you ascertain the number of points you are facing.
We have over 30 years of legal experience.
Call us at 800-893-9645

01 to 10 mph over the limit
11 to 20
21 to 30
31 to 40
More than 40

Fines:  A Judge will determine the fine amount that a driver is required to pay.  The fine can vary depending on the nature of the speed.  Furthermore, New York State has instituted a mandatory surcharge.   The surcharge is the portion of monies that are paid to Albany.  Depending on the particular court the ticket is in (ie, City Court v. Town Court v. Village Court), a surcharge can be as high as $93.00.

A fine can be as low as $45.00 and as high as $600.00 for a standard speeding ticket. 

Repeat offenders:  If a driver has been previously convicted of speeding in 18 months, the fines will increase.

Assessment Fee: if a driver is convicted of 6 points in an 18 month period, the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles will assess an additional $300.00 fine known as a “driver’s responsibility assessment” also known as the DRA.

An additional $25.00 DRA per year will be levied for every point above 6 that is assessed against the driver.  Therefore, if a driver is convicted of 8 points, they will be given a $450.00 fee.

Insurance: a conviction to a moving violation is one factor that an insurance company can take into consideration when calculating a driver’s premium.  Your insurance company will be in the best position to let you know how a moving violation will affect your premium.

Our Law Firm Can Help

Join the thousands of drivers that have saved time, money and points on their license with our traffic ticket defense firm.  Call our former prosecutor at 800-893-9645 and ask for a confidential consultation today.

Here is a list of some common charges were have helped our client’s fight.

  • Speeding under VTL § 1180 (b)
  • Speeding under VTL § 1180 (d)
  • Cell Phone under VTL § 1225
  • Child Seatbelt under VTL § 1229
  • Failure to Move Over under VTL § 1144-A
  • Failure to Signal under VTL § 1163
  • Following Too Closely under VTL § 1129
  • Operating Without Insurance under   VTL § 319 
  • Operating with a suspended registration under   VTL § 512 (Misdemeanor)
  • Red Light under   VTL § 1111
  • Stop Sign Violation under   VTL § 1172
  • Suspended License Operation under   VTL § 511.1 (Misdemeanor)
  • Unsafe Lane Change under VTL § 1128