Are you frustrated because you received a costly speeding ticket returnable to Ulster Town Court?
We can help. Our Ulster traffic ticket attorneys have been fighting speeding tickets, cell phone tickets and other moving violations for years. We have helped thousands of drivers limit their exposure to fines, penalties, and insurance increases. We are led by a former prosecutor and excel at having tickets either dismissed or reduced. Give us a call today to schedule your confidential consultation at 800-893-9645.
POINTS: How many points are associated with my ticket?
A conviction to a speeding ticket in New York can vary from three points up to eleven points depending on the driver’s rate of speed. Here is a quick chart to help you figure out the points you are facing.
01 to 10 mph over the limit
11 to 20
21 to 30
31 to 40
More than 40
All other violations can carry points ranging from zero points to eleven points.
FINES: What are the fines associated with this ticket?
Fines associated with a ticket are set by the judge, and the parameters are set by the New York State Legislature. Some of the most common fines are as follows:
First-time speeding offense
$45 to $600
One or more speeding tickets
(within eighteen months)
Up to $1,575
Disobey a Traffic Signal
(no other penalty provided)
Unregistered Vehicle or Trailer
Equipment Violations of Vehicle or Trailer
$ varies based on the charge and location
When are the fines due?
If you appear in court, it is the court’s preference that the fines be paid at the end of the case. For special circumstances, the court may extend a driver's time to pay.
If you plead guilty by mail, the court will send you a fine notice with instructions how to pay the fine.
What can happen if I miss my court date in Ulster Town Court?
When a driver misses a court date, the court has the power to suspend the driver’s privilege to drive in New York State.
How many points can I accumulate before my license is suspended?
There are many reasons for which a driver may lose their privilege to drive. One reason is receiving excessive points. In general, if a driver receives eleven or more points in an eighteen-month period, their license will be suspended.
How much money does it cost to lift a suspension?
There is a $70.00 lift fee associated with each ticket. Some courts will not allow a driver to simply pay the monies to lift the suspension. Some courts may require that a bond be posted or that a personal court appearance must be made simultaneously with payment of the lift fee.
How long does it take for a suspension to be lifted?
Although a suspension lift fee may be paid, the lift is not immediately entered into the Department of Motor Vehicles computers. From time to time, there can be a delay. Most courts will tell you that a suspension lift can take as little as 48 hours and some will tell you that it can take up to five business days.
If you have a speeding ticket or traffic summons in Ulster County, give our award winning team a call at 800-893-9645 to learn how we can help.