Thursday, April 24, 2014

Official Guide to Johnson City Traffic Defense

Court Information and Tips

Johnson City Village Court is in session on Wednesdays and Fridays starting at 9am. Here are some tips if you have a traffic ticket that is returnable to Johnson City Village Court. 

Let us help you save today!
Call us now at 800-893-9645.
Security: Upon your arrival at the courthouse, you will be asked to walk through a magnetometer for security reasons. Please turn off all electronic devices and do not bring food or drinks into the court. 

Dress Code: Although there is no official dress code, we highly recommend that you, as a litigant, wear formal clothing. Many judges frown upon those individuals who come to court in tank tops, shorts, or other similar items. 

Tip: One of the most important things you need to do is answer your ticket. Upon being issued a traffic ticket, you must answer it within 48 hours. Instructions on how to do so will be provided on your ticket. 

Note: If you decide to plead guilty to your traffic violation, this is equivalent to being convicted after a trial. Pleading guilty could result in many financial costs such as fines, fees, and penalties that you will have to pay to the court and the Department of Motor Vehicles. Not to mention the points that will be added to your license and an increase in your insurance cost. 

If you would like legal representation for your ticket matter, call our firm today. We have a highly skilled team of lawyers who have continuously helped hundreds of clients all over New York state save money, time, points and insurance increases. Our lawyers are known as some of the best lawyers in all of New York state. Our attorneys can be reached at 800-893-9645. 

How Many Points Will I Face? 

The number of points you are facing is determined based upon your violation. For example, using a cell phone while driving is a 5 point violation, while a speeding ticket ranges from 3-11 points based on your speed. There is no such thing as a 1-point violation in New York state. For more details take a look at the following chart: 

01 to 10 mph over the limit
11 to 20
21 to 30
31 to 40
More than 40

Points will affect a driver’s privilege to drive for 18 months from the date in which the ticket was issued.  In other words, the points do not run from the date of the conviction.  They run from the moment the officer issued the summons.

If a driver obtains 11 or more points, the driver's license will be suspended. If your driver's license is suspended, it is a crime to operate a vehicle. If you are pulled over, the officer can impound your car and arrest you on the spot. 

Junior License: If you have received a speeding ticket while possessing a Junior License (DJ), you  may have to appear in court regardless of your plea. New York state has strict guidelines for young drivers and your case should be handled with caution.  


1. What happens if I fail to respond to my speeding ticket?

Failing to respond can result in your license being suspended.  Driving with a suspended license can be charged as a crime.  You can be arrested and subject to incarceration.

2. Can’t every speeding ticket be dismissed or resolved with zero points?

Every case is unique.  Every court is unique.  It is difficult to make a blanket statement with regard the ultimate resolution of a legal matter.

3. Do I have to testify at a traffic trial?

In local criminal court, you are innocent until proven guilty.  You are not required to testify at your trial.